Area Development Districts (ADD) and Area Agencies on Aging (AAA)

What is an ADD?

Area Development District or ADD is a partnership between counties to provide resources to the local counties and cities withing the ADD region.

ADDs perform many different functions to positively impact quality of life and economic development.  ADDs partner with several state and federal agencies and are responsible for obtaining and administering grants for programs. 

A volunteer board of directors govern the ADD and are composed of elected officials, community leaders, and business leaders. 

In Kentucky there are 15 ADDs to represent all 120 counties. 

Where are they located?

The Kentucky Council of Area Development Districts is headquartered in Frankfort with local offices around the state.

Kentucky Area Development Districts (ADD) Map

What is an AAA? (need a description)

What is the relationship between DAIL, ADD, and AAA?

DAIL is designated as the State Unit on Aging by the Administration for Community Living. This federal entity allocates Older Americans Act funding, which provides critical home and community based services to seniors.

DAIL contracts with fifteen (15) Area Development Districts and designates them Area Agencies on Aging (AAA), who then provide services to seniors. State Community Mental Health centers are also located in these regions.